Home » Uncategorized » Interview with Laurence St. John, author of ‘Metatron: The Mystical Blade’

Interview with Laurence St. John, author of ‘Metatron: The Mystical Blade’

Lawrence St. JohnLaurence A. St. John was born on January 11, 1965 in Toledo Ohio. Laurence has one older brother and two younger sisters. Laurence along with his parents, brother and sisters moved once while growing up to Genoa Ohio, just south of Toledo. While attending Genoa Area schools, he was active in track, football and baseball. Later, after he graduated from Genoa High School (Comets) in 1983, he worked for a few manufacturing companies.

At the age of 23 and after three years of dedication, hard work and sweat, in 1988, Laurence received his first-degree black belt (Shodan) in Tae Kwon Do. This gave him the self-confidence and perseverance needed to surmount anything that came his way.

When Laurence was 25 years old he fell in love then married the love of his life, Julie in 1990. He then adopted her two young wonderful children Joe and Jan shortly after.

Out of high school for nearly fifteen years and after persuaded by his former manager, Laurence attended Owens State Community College where he obtained an Associates Degree in Microcomputer Business Systems while working full-time. In addition to computer classes, he enjoyed composition classes where he could free his mind and write what he wanted.

While working in the steel processing business for almost fifteen years, Laurence’s place of employment changed hands, for the third time in 2006; fighting for his job, again. In the same year his first granddaughter, Kendall, “Papa’s Angel” was born. He described this as one of the most uplifting moments of his life. In addition, it was during this time when his emotions were running wild; he became inspired as well as determined to write his penned-up thoughts on paper.

Nearly four years later, he had completed his first middle grade fantasy novel, Metatron: The Angel Has Risen. His latest book is Metatron: The Mystical Blade.

Laurence currently lives in Northwood Ohio with his wife of 24 years, Julie. His son Joe is married to Cari and they have three daughters, Kendall, Sadie and Harper. His daughter Jan is married to Andrew and they have a son Eli and a daughter Evelyn. Laurence currently holds the position of Administrations Manager at Precision Strip, Inc. in Perrysburg Ohio, where he works full time. He continually writes in his spare time; weekends and after work, and is endlessly inspired by his five grandkids Kendall, Elijah, Sadie, Evelyn and Harper.

For More Information

About the Book:

Metatron 2Thirteen-year-old Tyler Thompson is on the verge of becoming a superhero, but he must prove himself so he can earn the remainder of his superpowers and fulfill his destiny.

When his grandfather, Benjamin, is held prisoner at AREA 51, where the eternal powers are presumed to be hidden, Tyler attempts to penetrate the base’s heavy security. However, Dr. Mason Payne, the evil scientist who killed Tyler’s father, has insidious plans of his own.

Hunted by an unknown entity, Tyler races against the clock to retrieve the superpowers, rescue his family and help the others who are depending on him. And when all hope seems lost, help comes in a power he didn’t know he possessed—a mysterious weapon known as The Mystical Blade.

For More Information

  • Metatron: The Mystical Blade is available at Amazon.
  • Discuss this book at PUYB Virtual Book Club at Goodreads.
  • Watch the book trailer at YouTube.

Can you tell us who or what was the inspiration behind your book?

Yes, absolutely but first thank-you for having me.

One day while working in the steel processing business for almost fifteen years, my place of employment changed hands, for the third time in 2006; fighting for my job, again. In the same year my first granddaughter, Kendall, “Papa’s Angel” was born. This as one of the most uplifting moments of my life – one of the few times I remember crying with happiness. In addition, it was during this time when my emotions were running wild; I became inspired as well as determined to write his penned-up thoughts on paper. My first novel was published in 2012. The second novel in the series, Metatron: The Mystical Blade was published August 2014.

Is this your first published book and if so, can you tell us your experiences in finding a publisher for it?

This is actually my second book published by the same publisher, Imajin Books. After my first book was completely drafted, I had no idea what to do next. Ironically, the next day in the mail was a quarterly letter from the college I graduated from – Owen State Community College. In it was an article about an alumnus who was also an author. And behold, his email address was also included in the article. I sent him an email introducing myself then asked some questions. Within a few days he actually called me and provided me with valuable advice and contact information of an author/editor. After my manuscript was edited by the author/editor along with another editor and query letters sent out to over 100 agents and publishers, I didn’t receive a contract. Contemplating the idea of self-publishing I sent out a help memo to my networking contacts from Facebook and Twitter. I received some great advice from many of them but most importantly a reply to have my manuscript reviewed. Finally, after a couple of months I was offered a contract with Imajin Books. I smiled so much my cheek muscles began to hurt.

Where do you live and if I were coming to town, where would we go to talk books?

I live on the outskirts of Toledo Ohio in Northwood. If we were to talk books we would go to Barnes & Noble in Toledo or Books-A-Million in Perrysburg. But first we would walk down to Starbucks for coffee.

When you’re not writing, what do you do to relax and have fun?

I like to watch scifi movies, or lay by the pool with a beverage or just have a quite dinner with my wife Julie. I also love spending time with my five grandkids.

Do you make a living off your books or do you have another job?

Unfortunately, I do not make a living writing stories – I would consider it almost like a hobby. Hopefully someday writing will be a full time job. And yes, I have a full time day job. I’m an Administrations Manager for a local steel processor.

In your opinion, what makes a good book great?

I believe the story has to be well written, well edited, and easy to follow and keeps you wanting to read more – or wanting to read the entire book without putting it down. And, the story has to have something new that people haven’t read before.

Psychologists tell us the thing we think we’d most like to grow up to be when we’re ten years old is our avocation. What did you want to be?

I wanted to be a professional baseball player. I believe I was on my way until I sustained an injury to my pitching shoulder tearing muscle and ligaments when I was around twelve years old. Ever since that injury my throwing ability was never the same.

Can you give us a short excerpt from your book?

“If Tyler Thompson had known how tough it was to be a superhero, he might never have gotten involved in the first place. Sure, it was cool having Flash speed and super vision and all that, but there was a lot of pressure, and you couldn’t tell anyone. Not to mention that every time he went out he took his life in his hands and the whole thing was exhausting. Who knew that superheroes got tired? He wasn’t sure if being a superhero was a gift or a curse.

So when he heard a cry on the way home from another night of whooping Las Vegas bad guys, he wasn’t exactly in the mood for more trouble. In fact, he was tempted to ignore it. But superheroes never ignore people in trouble, no matter what. And while he wasn’t one hundred percent superhero yet, he’d never get there if he didn’t do his duty.”

What’s next for you?

I am currently working on book 3 and book 4 in the Metatron Series. Who knows, I might also be co-authoring a book as well.

Leave a comment