Home » Author Interviews » Author Interview: Susan DiPlacido & SHUFFLE UP AND DEAL

Author Interview: Susan DiPlacido & SHUFFLE UP AND DEAL

Susan DiPlacido 2Susan DiPlacido is the author of 24/7, Trattoria, Mutual Holdings, House Money, Lady Luck, Shuffle Up and Deal, and American Cool. Trattoria was nominated for the Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Award for Best Small Press Romance 2005, and her short story, “I, Candy,” won the Spirit Award at the 2005 Moondance International Film Festival. American Cool won the bronze medal in the 2008 IPPY awards and was a finalist in the 2008 Indie Book Awards. Shuffle Up and Deal was nominated for the Romantic Times Reviewer’s Choice Award for Best Small Press Erotic Fiction 2010. Her fiction has appeared in Susie Bright’s Best American Erotica 2007, Maxim Jakubowski’s Mammoth Book of Best New Erotica vol. 6 and 7, Zane’s Caramel Flava, and Rebellion: New Voices of Fiction.

Please visit her online at www.susandiplacido.com or www.susandiplacido.blogspot.com.

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/susan.diplacido

Become her friend her on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/susandiplacido

Shuffle Up and DealQ: Thank you so much for this interview, Susan!  Can you tell us where you are from?

I am from Pennsylvania, but I love Las Vegas, and readers can see that love in all my blooks.

Q: How did you come up with your title?

The title was probably the easiest part, because “Shuffle up and deal” is a standard line in the poker world when they’re ready to play, and it had a nice double meaning for this book, as in dealing with life and consequences.

Q: They say you can judge a book by its cover.  Can you tell us a little about your cover and who designed it? 

I’ve been published with small presses before, but I decided to self-pub this book, so I had complete say on the cover design.  I’m happy with how it turned out, because I think it captures the fun and flirty flavor of the book.  I got the main picture from iStock and then worked the rest around it.

Q: Can you tell us something about your book that would make me run out and buy it?

It’s sexier than “Fifty Shades of Grey.”

Q: Are there any messages in this book that you want the reader to know about?

No, not at all.  My priority is to entertain the reader.  I’m not Tolstoy, and I don’t pretend to be.

Q: What was your most favorite chapter to write and why?

There’s a section where all the main characters have dinner together.  I loved writing that because group scenes with heavy dialogue can be very rapid and funny, but also challenging to write so they aren’t confusing.  I’m happy with how it turned it out.

Q: Why did you feel you had to write this book?

I never feel like I have to write a book, or am compelled to.  For me, it’s about having fun.  Once I come up with a fun idea, I want to do my best to make it as entertaining as possible and hopefully share it with others and give them a laugh.

Q:  Now, some fun questions – What deep dark secret would you like to share with us?

I’m not sure how much of a secret it is, but vodka and cake make my world go ‘round.

Q: If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?

Paris.  It’s obvious why, right?

Q: Are you a morning person or a night person?

Both, actually.  I like to get up and get on it, and I get a big surge in the nighttime, too.  It’s just the entire day and evening that I’m lazy and useless.

Q: Are there any members in your family who also like to write?

There aren’t other writers, but the paternal side of my family was extremely creative.  Sculpting, painting, design, drawing, musicians; they were all very talented.

Q: As a child, were you a dreamer?

I don’t recall sitting around daydreaming much.  One of the things I hear repeatedly is that all girls sit around and dream about their wedding and I can honestly say I never once did that, or even thought about it.

Q: Last but not least, the magic genie has granted you one wish.  What would that be?

I’m supposed to say world peace, right?  World peace.  Or, world peace and healthy and happiness for my family.  Or, more correctly, world peace, health and happiness for my family, and a fat book contract for me.  Fair enough?

Q: Thank you so much for this interview! Do you have any final words?

Thank you so much for having me!

Leave a comment