Home » Author Interviews » Author Interview: Jill Limber & A Heart That Dares

Author Interview: Jill Limber & A Heart That Dares

A multi-published author and former RWA President, Jill Limber’s latest books are Montana Morning, A Heart That Dares and The Right Track. As a child, some of Jill’s tales got her in trouble, but now she gets paid for them. Residing in San Diego with her husband and a trio of dogs and one very ancient cat, Jill’s favorite pastime is to gather friends and family for good food, conversation and plenty of laughter.

You can visit her website at www.JillLimber.com.

Could you please tell us a little about your book?

Amanda Giles, an unconventional and free-spirited young artist, has to fulfill a deathbed promise to her brother before she can take up her life as a Bohemian in New York. She finds herself swept up in the perilous life of an undercover espionage agent for the Army of the North with handsome young Army Captain. Daniel McGrath. Daniel knows his preoccupation with the woman posing as his wife puts them both in grave danger, but he finds Amanda has no intention of abandoning their mission. As the danger increases, Daniel’s most vital objective is to secure a future for himself and the woman he loves.

Who or what is the inspiration behind this book?

I suppose my inspiration for this book goes back to the summer I turned thirteen and I read Gone With The Wind–over and over and over. My mother became quite worried that I was a little too obsessed. I’d always loved history, and I got sucked right into the story, and discovered romance. I thought it was quite a wonderful summer.

Who is your biggest supporter?

My husband, Jack. He is so supportive. He also does a final read through on each of my books before I send them in and catches all the things I miss when I get so wrapped up in the creative process. He’s a wizard at continuity and grammar.

Your biggest critic?

Without a doubt, myself. I tend to be hyper critical of my own work and have a hard time sending completed books to my editor. I keep wanting to hold on to them and go over them ‘one last time’.

Who has influenced you throughout your career as a writer?

Instead of a single person, I’d have to say courageous women generally. I love the bumper sticker that states ‘Well Behaved Women Rarely Make History’. Heroines in today’s romances are brave and strong and go for their dreams. They partner up with the heroes, but they hold their own.

What is the most important thing in your life right now?

Family. It always has been, and always will be. My writing is what makes my creative side feel great, but my family is my strength.

What are you currently working on?

I’m working on a historical romance titled The Ungovernable Governess, set in Buffalo New York in 1888. The heroine is from Alabama and is forced to go north to take a job she doesn’t want. It’s a fish out of water story and I love the way it’s coming together. I’m working on the final draft, and I love to rewrite, so I’m having a great deal of fun right now.

What is the most important lesson you have learned from life so far?

If you have a dream, and everyone should, you need to reach for it. Take chances, ignore criticism and really try to get what you want. It makes life so sweet!

What is your favorite past-time?

I love to read and I love to cook. Before I sold my first book I had a catering company, and I kept it going for quite a while and also wrote, but finally I had to make a choice, and writing won out, so now cooking is a hobby. I get the best of both worlds.

Leave a comment