Home » Uncategorized » Interview with Erna Mueller, author of ‘K-9 Cop’

Interview with Erna Mueller, author of ‘K-9 Cop’

Erna MuellerI was born in Austria and my family immigrated to the U.S. I loved living here as a child and considered the U.S. my home. My family returned to Austria and of course I had to tag along. I missed the friendly faces and the cultivation of the free spirit which America symbolizes. In Austria I completed my education but always wanted to return, so here I am.

I traveled the world and lived in many exciting cities such as Paris, Munich and London. I currently work as an accountant for a large pizza company in Seattle by day and passionately pursue a career as a writer in my spare time.

My new book, K-9 Cop, is adapted from my multi-national award winning screenplay.  The book has won several awards including first place in the 2009 National Good Read Competition sponsored by awomenswrite.com.

Please visit my web site at http://www.k9cop-woofwoof.com for more reviews and other info.

For More Information

K-9 Cop 2Can you tell us who or what was the inspiration behind your book?

I thought a Young Adult book would be a great idea to write for a first time novelist. I always loved family orientated books and movies and was searching for a story that depicts the human condition with all its splendor and frailties. What better way than through a surly cop who has to go back to earth in the body of his K-9 partner? The cop needs to help a troubled teenager and his dysfunctional family in order to be redeemed

Is this your first published book and if so, can you tell us your experiences in finding a publisher for it?

N/A since I self-published.

Where do you live and if I were coming to town, where would we go to talk books?

I live in a Burb in the Northwest near Seattle and we would meet at a Starbucks. We’d be the book junkies grazing with caffeine junkies and it’s raining outside, ah…the perfect afternoon.

When you’re not writing, what do you do to relax and have fun?

I love good movies, spending time with fiends and pets.

Do you make a living off your books or do you have another job?

I am a mild mannered accountant by day and a passionate writer by night. I would love if my writing paid the bills but it doesn’t so I’m glad I have a great day job.

In your opinion, what makes a good book great?

A book that depicts the human condition with all its splendor and frailties. It has to make me laugh and cry and after I turn the last page it needs to stick in my mind.

Psychologists tell us the thing we think we’d most like to grow up to be when we’re ten years old is our avocation. What did you want to be?

Ever since I can remember, a writer.

Can you give us a short excerpt from your book?

Chapter Seven
GOOD HEAVENS!

“Holy moly! I’m dead! And God is a woman!”

“Slow down!” The angel laughed like tinkling chimes. “I’m not God. I was once a mortal, just like you.” She offered Spencer a hand, and pulled him to his feet.

“And where am I? Am I…?

“Dead.” The angel tittered.

He brushed himself off. “At least I made it into Heaven.”

“Well, not quite.”

“What does that mean?”

The angel stared into his eyes. “It means you’re not ready. Not for a while.”

Spencer’s eyebrows shot up. “Not ready for Heaven? I’m quite ready, thank you. What’s my room number?”

The angel shook her head.

“Seriously? Why not? Hey, did I know you? Because if I did, I’m sorry that I didn’t call you the next day. I lost your number in the wash.”

“No.” The angel looked across the vast cloudscape, to the open doors of a great gilded throne-room. She spoke in a singsong voice and shook her head defensively. “He knows that I was never that desperate. I’m a gatekeeper. You’re not going into Heaven, not yet. Not in your condition.” The angel raised her brows at him, leaned her shoulders, and settled a hand on a hip. Her golden aura glowed as she glared at Spencer, a force that burned through him.

He dropped to his knees. “But I spent my whole life putting scumbags behind bars.”

“We know. And our Department of Works appreciates that, but you’re not on the gatekeeper’s checklist.” The Angel snapped her fingers and an easel appeared, with a large pad of visual aids. She glanced at the chart and tapped Spencer’s chest. “It says here you have a sub-zero storage locker where your heart should be.”

“No!”

“Yes. Let me put it in spiritual terms. You’re a jerk, Spencer Watley, and jerks need to pass the J.R.P. before they can get in.”

“What’s the J.R.P and how does it work?”

“I’m so glad you asked.” She snapped her fingers, and a page on the easel turned. “It stands for the Jerk Redemption Program. The standard tour is one-hundred years of service in the Department of Works surveillance department . . .” She checked the chart. “Monitoring daytime talk shows. You know, like Oprah and Dr. Phil. That should make you nice and sensitive.”

“Noo!” howled Spencer.

The angel bent to read smaller print. “Oh, and not just cable, but all stations globally.”

“If that’s your idea of redemption, what did your people put together for Hell? I’d never survive a stakeout that long. Please, anything but that!” Spencer hands clasped before him.

“You can’t blame me for everything. Maybe if my dad had helped me, I would have been a much better person. I never had a father’s guidance and it crippled me. You must have a spiritually handicapped department? I may not have been Mr. Nice Guy, but I had other redeeming qualities.”

The angel snapped again, turning her easel to a checklist, blank except for two marks. “You were a great cop, no doubt about that. And you never stole cable. Those are the only redeeming qualities in the man before me.”

Spencer crept closer to the angel, nodded and whispered righteously. “But I always put the toilet seat down.”

“Again, those are Department of Works issues. You see, you followed all the rules, but that’s only a small part of being a good person. More importantly, did you love your fellow man? What about empathy, understanding, and patience – all the things that make the human race divine? Remember what the big Boss said? ‘Whatever you do to your fellow man, you do unto me.’”

She sighed, and pointed to a giant cement fortress. “It’s that building over there. Just tell the doorman you’re a jerk, and he’ll give you the paperwork to fill out.”

What’s next for you?

My Audio book of K-9 Cop will be out in October.

 

 

Leave a Reply

