Home » Author Interviews » Interview with Rudy Mazzocchi, author of ‘Storytelling – The Indispensable Art of Entrepreneurism’

Interview with Rudy Mazzocchi, author of ‘Storytelling – The Indispensable Art of Entrepreneurism’

Rudy-MazzochiRudy Mazzocchi is best known as a medical device and biotechnology entrepreneur, inventor, and angel investor, with a history of starting new technology ventures throughout the U.S. and Europe. He’s been privileged to have the opportunity to see the newest innovations in healthcare and work with some of the most brilliant researchers, scientists and physicians in the industry.

Authoring more than 50 patents, he has helped pioneer new companies involved in cardiology, oncology, orthopedics, neurosurgery and even embryonic stem-cell development. Through these efforts, he has become the recipient of many technology and business awards, including the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award in Healthcare (2004), Businessman of the Year Award (2005), and Global Entrepreneur of the Year Award (2013).

Combining these experiences and opportunities, with thousands of hours of travel and long evenings in hotel rooms, he found the initiative to start writing a collection of award-winning business/medical thrillers based on true events, known as The EQUITY Series. STORYTELLING was his debut non-fiction business book released in November 2013.

Visit his website at www.RudyMazzochi.com.

Connect & Socialize with Rudy!

TWITTER | FACEBOOK | GOODREADS

About the Book:

StorytellingThe value of any new venture or sound new idea needs to be developed out of the nothingness of silence, ignorance and darkness. It ignites and illuminates the world only when the great storytelling entrepreneur lights the flame. “STORYTELLING: The Indispensable Art of the Entrepreneur” shows, with startling clarity and practical know-how, the process by which wealth and other things of exceptional value can emerge into the world literally out of nothing—nothing, that is, but the Art of Storytelling.

STORYTELLING takes you on a journey which reveals how the development, progressive modification and adaptation of your story is the golden thread and foundational core management practice which ties together all the others:  building, focusing and motivating your management team, navigating through troubled times or excessive growth, maintaining positive momentum with investors and Boards of Directors and positioning the venture for a potential exit.

Award-winning author and entrepreneur, Rudy Mazzocchi, exposes his greatest secret of success and provides an enormous amount of “experienced-based” illustrations and nuts-and-bolts practical advice. He reveals how to create and evolve the story of your new venture in a way that energizes and breathes life into what may have started out as just an idea.

Everyone can benefit greatly from reading this book—whether or not you envision yourself as an entrepreneur. STORYTELLING: The Indispensable Art of the Entrepreneur applies universally to ventures of all types and is an essential element in the fulfillment of any dream—dreams which depend upon capturing the interest and sustaining the highly-motivated commitment of others.

Purchase your copy:

AMAZON

Can you tell us who or what was the inspiration behind your book?

I’ve been fortunate enough to have a successful career as a start-up CEO/Entrepreneur and have become the recipient of several business awards. While being interviewed for my second Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award, the judges started pressing me on what I thought was the primary element of my success. I really hadn’t given it much thought until that time, but with no real business education or training, I suddenly realized that it was just my ability to tell the story. In explaining myself, I outlined the complexity of what seemed to be a simple comment. Storytelling is an art that defines the true entrepreneur… an art that needs to develop and evolve throughout their journey.

As a long-time fan of the Wizard of Oz, I often draw business analogies to Dorothy and her journey along the yellow brick road. There was an immediate overlap to my explanation to those judges as I told them yet another story that compared Dorothy to my own journey. I held these judges at the edge of their seats until one of them simply said, “You should write that up… it would make a very insightful business book!” Six months later, I submitted the manuscript to my editors.

Is this your first published book and if so, can you tell us your experiences in finding a publisher for it?

I recently took some time off from writing a series of business/medical thrillers, now known as The EQUITY Series. These are bold novels based on true events that reveal revolutionary medical sciences that will eventually force our society to rethink moral, ethical and political perspectives on how these technologies are commercialized. The first novel, EQUITY of EVIL (released in March of 2012), attracted the eyes of a literary agency in New York (Trident Media Group) and then eventually those of my publisher, Twilight Times Books. The second book in this series was released in March of 2013. While initiating the promotion of this second novel, my publisher agreed to publish STORYTELLING, with the hope that it would further my exposure and brand recognition in the market.

Where do you live and if I were coming to town, where would we go to talk books?

I live in Viera, Florida, a small town just southeast of Orlando near Cocoa Beach. There are only two local book stores, but the best place to meet and talk books would be my favorite little bar/restaurant that sits on the shore of the intra-coastal waterway, less than a mile from the beach, called “Bonefish Willy’s.” I think Hemingway would have liked this place!

When you’re not writing, what do you do to relax and have fun?

Well, I have to admit, with my work and travel schedule, writing is a way for me to relax and have fun! Second to which, I have to say would be spending time with family, watching movies, cooking meals, or taking a road-trip on my new motorcycle – Harley Davidson, of course!

Do you make a living off your books or do you have another job?

I’ve never planned to make a living off of my writing as I actually view it as a wonderful hobby/pastime. However, as Dan Brown, author of the Da Vinci Code once told me, “Movies make books, books don’t make movies.” Therefore, I have aspirations of seeing The EQUITY Series up on the big screen someday. That would be so cool!

My day job continues to be as an early-stage C.E.O. of medical technology companies. As noted in my book, STORYTELLING – The Indispensable Art of Entrepreneurism, these start-up companies either become valuable and eventually acquired, or they don’t survive and need to be shut down. I tend to transition to leading another new venture every five to seven years.

In your opinion, what makes a good book great?

Personally, I like a good novel that includes a storyline that could potentially impact me as an individual – in my real life. This is why I have an affinity towards medical thrillers. They could easily touch each and every one of us, either as a victim or family member. Stories involving vampires, zombies, or even heroic detectives can be entertaining, but don’t pull me in simply because I cannot put myself into the story.

Psychologists tell us the thing we think we’d most like to grow up to be when we’re ten years old is our avocation.  What did you want to be?

At the age of ten, I dreamed of becoming a veterinarian. It later stimulated my interest in medical sciences, and (as much as I hate to admit it), I’ve used a variety of animals to complete the necessary research to move many technologies forward to human clinical trials. Some of these laboratory experiences have helped me develop several scenes in my novels… including one where the animals get their just revenge!

Can you give us a short excerpt from your book?

“To be an accomplished entrepreneur, you must be able to tell your story properly. The twisted road to success—your success—will be filled with enlightenment, dread, exuberance, fear, joy and desperation. Without exception, the journey will be long and any deviation from the path may well place you in danger. If it’s of any comfort, when you do wander off that yellow brick road, you won’t be alone, but the longer you stay there, the tougher it is to get back on track without starting over. This book is based on personal experiences and designed to provide you with certain “guardrails” to help you stay on that path… and to avoid those damn flying monkeys.

Remember the story of the Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum? How many times did Dorothy tell her story to others along her treacherous journey to the Emerald City? Her mission began when she explained herself to Glinda, the Good Witch of the North, after her house took out the Wicked Witch of the East. She refined her story when meeting the Munchkins, and it became stronger and more powerful each time she encountered a new companion—the Scarecrow, Tin Man and Cowardly Lion. Dorothy then put a different spin on things when telling her story to the Wicked Witch of the West. How many times did she have to explain herself to whomever would listen—convincing others to help or join her on the journey? By the time she reached her key objective, her story to the Wizard was fine-tuned, well-rehearsed and crystal clear. Not only did she achieve her goals and those that defined her journey, but others who believed and supported her story along the way were provided a handsome return for their efforts.”

What’s next for you?

I’ve recently completed the majority of the research to support the third book in The EQUITY Series, to be titled, EQUITY of LIFE. This will be another suspenseful thriller that uses a controversial underlying theme… this time, addressing the topic of euthanasia. Meanwhile, I’ll focus on promoting the other two books in this series, and get back up at the podium to continue my storytelling adventures!

Leave a Reply

