Home » Author Interviews » Up Close and Personal with Author Beverly Stowe McClure

Up Close and Personal with Author Beverly Stowe McClure

pirate-blockade-runner-cat-200x300

ABOUT A PIRATE, A BLOCKADE RUNNER, AND A CAT

Thirteen-year-old Erik Burks’ life is falling apart. When he discovers a lace bra in the glove compartment of his dad’s car, his mom leaves his father and drags Erik from being king of the hill in Texas to the bottom of the pits in South Carolina. No Dad, no baseball, no friends, just Starry Knight (a girl who reads minds) and her equally weird brother, Stormy, the twins that live down the block.

Just when Erik thinks life can’t get any worse, while hanging out at the beach one evening, he and the twins notice lights radiating from the lighthouse. The only problem is the lighthouse was deactivated years ago. Stranger still, a ship materializes in the moonlit harbor. Curious, the twins and a reluctant Erik investigate and discover the ghost of a blockade runner, a phantom cat, and a pirate who prowls Charleston Harbor, all searching for rest.

A former nonbeliever in the existence of ghosts, Erik cannot deny the proof before him. And he has a revelation: The ghosts may be the answer to his desire to return home. Erik soon makes a deal with the ghosts. He’ll help them find what they’re looking for so their spirits can rest in peace. In return, the ghosts will scare Erik’s mother so she’ll be on the next flight back to Texas. Star thinks his plan stinks, but Erik wants his life back, even at the cost of his mother’s sanity.

Purchase at MuseItUp Publishing or Amazon!

Up Close

The thing about me is that I‘m shy and quiet and don’t do well around crowds of people. 

When I first get up in the morning, I dress then walk down the road to open the gate and fetch my newspaper. On the walk, I start my day talking to God. 

The most important thing in my life is my Heavenly Father, my family, my sons, daughters-in-law, grandchildren.

I love to travel to visit my sons and their families in Charleston, SC, and Southern California.

In my spare time, I read, play the piano, snap pictures of clouds and wildlife, and trace my family genealogy.

One thing I learned about life was nothing lasts forever.

The sole mission I have on this earth is to love and help others through my writing, or however they need help, and to be a good mother and grandmother for my children.

One little known fact about me that might surprise you is I think most insects, like the praying mantis with their little hands folded under their chins, walking sticks with their fragile legs running up the wall, butterflies and moths with their colorful wings are beautiful and will rescue them from the cats whenever possible.

My favorite time of day is morning when it’s cool and the world is coming to life after the night.

I love to write about children and teens who learn that they’re important in our world.

The most difficult aspect about writing is putting my thoughts down on paper or the keyboard so they come out the way they are in my head instead of a jumbled, incoherent mess.

My most favorite aspect about writing is seeing the work published and readers telling me they love/like/can relate to my characters, plot, story, and when is my next book out.

When I became a published author for the first time, I sent copies to everyone I could think of.

The inspiration behind my book comes from a visit to my son and daughter-in-law in South Carolina. One morning we went to Folly Beach to watch the sun rise over the water. The Morris Island Lighthouse stands across the inlet. Now, a lighthouse must have a ghost, right? Who inhabited this lighthouse? Why was he a ghost? And what did I see cruising in the waters? A ship. A ghost ship with a pirate on board, wearing a tricorn hat, a cutlass at his side. What was his problem? The imagination is a wonderful thing. With a clear vision of these characters in mind, my story was born.

The most asked question about my book is Do the ghosts really exist? (Only the ghosts know.)Beverly Stowe McClure photojpg

ABOUT BEVERLY STOWE MCCLURE

Beverly Stowe McClure, a former teacher, is now enjoying a second career: writing. She never planned to be a writer, but in the classroom she and her students did such fun activities in art and science that she decided to write about some of them. Luckily, a few magazines liked what she sent them, and her articles have appeared in Humpty Dumpty, Jack and Jill, Ladybug, Focus on the Family Clubhouse, Jr., and others. Nine of her stories have been published as books, the latest one a MG/Tween eBook: A Pirate, a Blockade Runner, and a Cat. She also has two stories in Chicken Soup for the Soul anthologies.

Beverly enjoys discovering her ancestors in her genealogy research. She plays the piano. (Thank you, Mom, for making encouraging me to practice.) She takes long walks where she snaps pictures of wildlife and clouds, and of course she reads, usually two books at a time. She teaches a women’s Sunday school class. Watching baseball (Go Rangers) is another of her favorite activities. Retirement is fun.

 You can learn more about Beverly Stowe McClure at http://beverlystowemcclure.wordpress.com or her blog at http://beverlystowemcclure.blogspot.com

Friend Beverly on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/beverlysmcclure 

Follow her on Twitter: https://twitter.com/beverlymcclure 

Become one of Beverly’s fans on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/11462.Beverly_Stowe_McClure

5 thoughts on “Up Close and Personal with Author Beverly Stowe McClure

    • Hi Stephanie, Jack and Jill is a great magazine for children. Thanks for reading about me. Now I have no secrets. No, I don’t write music, but I enjoy the older songs, like from the 50s more than modern music.

    • Thanks, Kai. I treasure your friendship and your critiques improve my stories so much. Your books are super and I see great things in your writing career.

Leave a Reply

