Home » Uncategorized » Up Close and Personal with ‘Chimney Bluffs’ author David Seaburn

Up Close and Personal with ‘Chimney Bluffs’ author David Seaburn

 

David B. Seaburn is the author of three previous novels, including Charlie No Face, which was a Finalist for the INDIE Excellence in Books Award in 2011. Seaburn is a retired family psychologist and Presbyterian minister. Seaburn lives in Spencerport, NY; he is married and has two adult daughters and two wonderful granddaughters.

WEBSITE

 

Between the Covers 0DAVID SEABURN

The thing about me is that I …have to write; it is the way I make sense of life, the way I make meaning, the way I wrestle with questions that are important to me, and, I hope, to others. If I didn’t write, what would I do with my hands?


Chimney BluffsWhen I first get up in the morning, I
…am almost worthless; I sometimes doubt the wisdom of getting up, convinced instead, that more sleep would be a reasonable option; but I also don’t like to sleep late and miss the day, so I begin each day with this extraordinary existential struggle, usually made more tolerable by a cup of chai.

The most important thing in my life is …my family; my wife and I have two adult daughters, one of which is married; and we have two wonderful granddaughters (almost 4 and 2) that we watch two days a week.

I love to travel to …Paris, Italy, New York.

In my spare time, I …am part of a team at a university medical center that works with physicians, helping them to develop better doctor-patient skills; long before my retirement, I was on faculty there as a family psychologist; I also volunteer at a local residence for patients and their family members who are in Rochester, NY for cancer treatment.

One thing I learned about life was …that we are all connected and that what we do with that fact is our most important job in life.

The sole mission I am on this earth is to …appreciate being here and live accordingly; unfortunately, I am not as good at that as I would like to be.

One little known fact about me that might surprise you is …..that I am also an ordained Presbyterian minister, retired now; I started my work life as a rural church minister; after six years, I entered the mental health field where I spent the rest of my career. I am still invited to preach from time to time at area churches.

My favorite time of day is …..early evening; that is when the deer come out in the woodlot behind our house.

I love to write about …human struggles, such as loss, and the role that relationships play in hope and healing.

The most difficult aspect about writing is ….. book promotion; it is very time consuming, although I do enjoy interacting with readers at book readings/signings and at book group appearances.

My most favorite aspect about writing is …..sitting down at my computer to form good sentences, create engaging characters, and tell a story that makes the reader keep wanting to turn the page.

When I became a published author for the first time, I …..thought I had reached a mountain top; but then I noticed there were still other mountains to climb.

The inspiration behind my book comes from ….. When I was working on my last novel, Charlie No Face, I read an online news article about a mother and father in England who had committed suicide by leaping from a famous cliff after the unanticipated death of their four year old son. Of course, that was awful in and of itself, but what really captured my attention was that they jumped with two sacks; one had their dead son; the other had his toys. Somehow I couldn’t get that image out of my mind. They clearly wanted to be together in whatever world awaited them. The sack of toys was very poignant. They must have thought their son would need them.

I couldn’t shake this story. I began to wonder: How did the couple come to their decision? Is it possible that each parent had very divergent reasons for deciding this was the right thing to do? I also wondered—What if one of the parents had not died? Those questions motivated me to write Chimney Bluffs.

The most asked question about my book is …..Where did you get that idea? People are often surprised that it is based very loosely on an actual occurrence, yet all of my novels have some connections to actual events, even if only indirectly.

 

Leave a Reply

