Home » Memoir » A FULL HOUSE – BUT EMPTY by Angus Munro

A FULL HOUSE – BUT EMPTY by Angus Munro

A Full House – But Empty
Angus Munro
Memoir
iUniverse
268 pages

Filled with anecdotes, lessons learned, and an inspirational message for everyone who believes that hard work breeds success, this moving autobiography shares the remarkable story of Angus Munro.

Munro is just three when he suffers from appendicitis and spends several weeks in a Vancouver hospital as his family struggles to survive the Great Depression. After finally arriving home, Munro asks his sister, “Where is Mummy?” and is promptly told his mother doesn’t live there anymore. It is this traumatic event that changes the course of Munro’s life forever. His father is suddenly a single parent while simultaneously turning into Munro’s mentor and hero. He teaches Munro the motto, “Always do the right thing,” while raising his children in an environment that is at the very least hectic, and more often completely chaotic.

Through a potpourri of chronological and heartfelt tales, Munro reveals how he learned to view incidents in life in terms of responsibility, recognition, personal conduct, and consideration of others. Despite dropping out of school at a young age, Munro perseveres, eventually attaining professional success.

Munro’s memoir is a wonderful tribute to his father’s legacy and the greatest lesson of all – whatever you do, follow through.

At the age of three, I suffered from appendicitis and spent seven weeks in the Vancouver General Hospital. Little did I know Or understand at the time that my mother and father were seriously struggling with their relationship, and that the future of our family life was hanging in the balance.

Upon my arrival home from the hospital, I was immediately put into my bed, which was a large crib that had been placed in the living room. As soon as I settled in, I asked my six-year-old sister Laura, “Where is my mummy?”

“She doesn’t live here anymore,” she stated flatly.

Her words shocked me. I started thrashing around and screaming hysterically, “Mummy, Mummy!” My father rushed into the room to rescue me and to pacify me.

“It’s okay. Everything is going to be okay. We’re here with you now.” I continued to cry hysterically. I felt dejected. Why did I seem to be the only one upset with this tragic news? I did not comprehend that my mother had been gone from home for seven weeks. This was old news to Laura, but fresh news to me.

To find out more about Angus Munro’s new book, A Full House – But Empty, visit his website here or follow his virtual book tour here.  If you would like to pick up a copy of Angus’ book at Amazon, click on the book cover above.

4 thoughts on “A FULL HOUSE – BUT EMPTY by Angus Munro

  1. Pingback: Pump Up Your Book Promotion’s September Authors On Tour - Day 2 « Pump Up Your Book Promotion Virtual Book Tours

  2. Pingback: Virtual Blog Tour: Memoir Author Angus Munro visits Book Excerpts from Bestselling Authors! « Let’s Talk Virtual Book Tours

  3. Pingback: Bookmarks about Empty

Leave a Reply

