Home » Children's » Up Close and Personal with ‘A Christmas Kindness’ Author, C. C. Gevry

Up Close and Personal with ‘A Christmas Kindness’ Author, C. C. Gevry

Cheryl Malandrinos

C.C Gevry (pen name for Cheryl C. Malandrinos) is a children’s author from Western Massachusetts. She is a member of SCBWI. A Christmas Kindness is her first book with 4RV Publishing. Ms. Gevry is married with two young children and a son who is married.

Up Close

C.C. Gevry

The thing about me is that I… like my cats better than most people. Whoops, evil Cheryl slipped out. What I meant to say is I try to be a good person and set an example for my children.

When I first get up in the morning, I… hit the snooze button at least twice beforeA Christmas Kindness cover small - PROMO crawling out of bed. I am so not a morning person. I’ve been a night owl for as long as I can remember. I try not to crawl out of bed before nine on the weekends. You can decide if I mean AM or PM. 

The most important thing in my life is… my faith. I would be lost without it. Life can be a tough thing without the anchor that God provides.

I love to travel to… the Outer Banks of North Carolina each summer. We stay at a friend’s house and enjoy two weeks of fun and sunshine. We’re usually down south for my birthday, which makes the trip extra special. Our extended family joined us last year. It was a blast.

In my spare time, IDid you really say spare time? I had to pause, because between working, my family, and my volunteer work, I’m lucky to get enough time to eat lunch each day. I like to putter in my garden when I get a chance and I read each night.

One thing I learned about life is… that it’s like a box of chocolates…Oh, wait, someone else already said that. Life is what you make of it. Do I have everything I want out of life? No. I’m not living in a house on the Atlantic coast. I’m not a millionaire. I have never managed to buy that candy apple red Corvette I’ve wanted since I was 16. But God has blessed me with a wonderful family. We have a roof over our heads and clothes on our bodies. We’re all healthy, too. What more can I ask for?

The sole mission I am on this earth is to… live long enough to aggravate my children. Oh, you were serious. I hope my books help spread the Good News and encourage youngsters to consider God their friend in times of need and in times of great joy.

One little known fact about me that might surprise you is… I have tons of phobias. I’m afraid of flying, afraid to travel through tunnels or over bridges, and terrified of drowning. I blame my parents. It’s sure easier than paying for therapy.

My favorite time of day is… bedtime. It’s the only time my girls aren’t fighting. LOL!

I love to write about… kids using faith to manage their problems. On a lighter note, I’ve taken to writing some sillier stories solely meant to entertain.

The most difficult aspect about writing is… staring at the blank page. Not because I don’t know what to write, but because I have to stop and look something up, which makes me get lost in my research, which makes me forget what I was looking up in the first place, and then my train of thought is as dead as a squashed spider.

My most favorite aspect about writing is… editing. I know I’m crazy, but I love polishing my work and making it shine.

When I became a published author for the first time, I… told everyone I know. Well, maybe not everyone. I didn’t contact the retired nuns from my elementary school.

The inspiration behind my book comes… 100% from my children.Whether they give me the idea for a story or do something that inspires a story, they are in there somewhere.

The most asked question about my book is… why did you choose a pen name? It seemed like a good plan at the time, but I have to admit it’s made book promotion a challenge. Multiple social media accounts, trying to create a platform for a new name, and just plain old trying to fit in promotion time for two identities makes me wonder what someone slipped in my tea to make think a pen name made sense.

That said, I felt it important to separate my faith-based stories from the ones I am writing for the sole purpose of entertainment. Time will tell if it was the right choice.

6 thoughts on “Up Close and Personal with ‘A Christmas Kindness’ Author, C. C. Gevry

  1. I thought about a pen name when I discovered there are several others with the name Vivian Zabel, one in prison. I thought about using my middle initial, but there are at least six Vivian E. Zabels. I decided to use my first name or initial, my maiden name, and my last name because there are no others with that name. I had to stay with some combination of my real name, or I would forget who I am. *grin*

    Interesting post about you, Cheryl.

    • Thanks for stopping by, Vivian. I really wish I had given the pen name some additional thought, because in the larger scheme of things this book would have worked in well with my faith-filled journeys for kids brand. Despite the fact that it’s not a faith-based story, A Christmas Kindness still teaches what many would consider traditional Christian values. The stories I find I am writing now are not message driven books. Instead they are for entertainment only. So it would have been better to use the C.C. Gevry name for those. Live and learn.

  2. I love your sense of humor, Cheryl. Great interview, I learned stuff about you I didn’t know. Your book is a lovely story. Best of luck to you with your writing. I’m waiting to see more of your work in print.

  3. We have so much in common – though I imagine that isn’t a big surprise. Mind you, I still think bed time is awesome even though I don’t have kids. There’s nothing like sinking down onto a comfortable bed at the end of a long day…

  4. I know. it’s a shame we don’t live closer. If you ever consider a return to the States, please make sure it’s close to me. :)

Leave a Reply

